Skip to content

I know when you present other people’s portraits, you’re not supposed to talk about yourself, but…

August 19, 2010

Today is kind of a blah day. Bland. Lacking salt. I am thinking about all the things I have to do, and the list gets longer as I think about. Last night I got home from Oshawa, did almost as much laundry by weight as a teenage girl, cooked a healthy meal, called my mother, my aunt, helped my sister get through a break-up, and spent time with Karl, who helped me do some dishes and crashed. Then I curled into a ball on the couch and just fell asleep because then it was midnight, and I was too tired to do anything else. So rewriting my resume to submit to my sister’s workplace, going to see if Boo Radley’s still needs employees, writing articles on the new Dan Mangan album, and for the Victoria University frosh, dealing with OSAP and my ex boss, and putting away all that laundry had to wait for today.

I found out the my position at Starving Artist was not in fact sealed, which blows- I finally get a position I like and I fuck it up by going on vacation for a week, which I still owe my boyfriend’s dad $300 for to boot.

I’ve spent too much of the week socializing with friends and family members, and now I realize how much I have to do and it scares me. I don’t want to go anywhere today or talk to anyone. I’d rather sit here attached to my laptop, and maybe write- except I don’t feel like I have much to write about today. The one interesting thing I did do in the past few days was too illegal and intimate to tell anyone about.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RdYEkZL9KPM

But you know, as heavy as things weigh down on my life sometimes- I really like when I finish something. It’s a nice feeling. So here is one thing I finished this week. It’s a sharpie marker drawing of my friend Justine, fleshed out with watercolours and white ink.

justine, maiden of the double apple shisha

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 19, 2010 8:58 pm

    At least you have something to do! I on the other hand am in something of a more boring situation. Business is the spice of life! And the picture looks great. I kind of wish I took mine home now to finish it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

