Skip to content

Sunday Night Dinner Special

November 23, 2009

 

Paula, I’m sorry that I didn’t invite you for this week’s Sunday dinner. This week’s dinner was just David and I. Last night, after watching some kid who Dave grew up with play in the Dave Mirvish Village, we went for some after-drinking sushi at Mariko. Where I inevitably forgot my phone. I don’t know how I’m always managing to leave my things everywhere. Luckily Dave also left his scarf at the restaurant, otherwise it would’ve never occurred to me to go back to look for it.

Tonight’s dinner was breaded latkes, stuffed with apples and white cheddar. I made a yogurt and cranberry sauce to put on top. They’re pretty tasty and mighty filling. I served these sweet and savoury pancakes with rapini on the side. The bitterness is nice with this, and hot or cold, to cook this just simply cut it into bite-size chunks, and fry with garlic, salt, pepper, and a touch of balsamic.

We need to get some more cookbooks. Everything I cook is so Moosewood, and everything Mark makes is so Julia Childs.

Anyways, enjoy. If you need any clarification, just ask.

such decadence!

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 3, 2009 12:02 am

    OMG that recipe sounds amazing! I had a cooking holiday myself over American Thanksgiving break – I stole your idea and hosted a potluck for everyone back from school while my parents were in Chicago celebrating their 25th wedding anniversary and it totally worked! Everyone brought food and drinks and fun was had by all. I made a couple of panchetta-wrapped pork tenderloin (one of which mysteriously came out more well-done than the other), a couple of oven-roasted marinated eggplants stuffed with cheese and sun-dried tomatoes, and a side of polenta with gruyere. There was even plenty of vegan food for Mean Katy. I’m still super excited to come visit you for your Christmas potluck, they finally granted my request for time off work!!! Yay!!! I’ll call you to confirm but I will hopefully be coming down Friday (18th) night and leaving Monday (21st) morningish. Then I will be in Toronto again for Boxing Day because that’s when the family gets together for Christmas so if you’re downtown on the 27th or 28th I might pop over for another visit lol. At least this way if I forget more of my shit I can swing by and pick it up lmao. 🙂

Leave a Reply

