Skip to content

You are sleeping,

December 20, 2009

but there are certain musics for this hour of the night. 3 o’clock in the morning, silently drawing pictures while the rest of the world sleeps is Timber Timbre .

I don’t have a lot to say tonight. I have a head full of 3 AM clarity. Stream of consciousness has stopped now. The zen of trying to capture the virgin in sharpie marker iconography has triumphed again. And there is quiet in my head.

Today slid through fingers like only time can. Jordan is here. All we did was shop, eat, nap. I made a stack of snow flakes while I watched Jordan’s eyes, Mark’s eyes grow heavy. When they finally fell asleep I knew it was my time. Peace and quiet. Making snowflakes made me hungry for larger projects. So when the best friends went off to dream I pulled out a rainbow of markers to get some drawing done without interstractions, disruptions.

My mom is back in the hospital again, and she’s stuck there until further notice. She’s there because she doesn’t let herself relax, because she won’t go to sleep. At 3-going-on-4 o’clock in the morning, with a new piece to show for it, I know it’s awful that I can see the appeal in that.

This image is for her. It’s just a sketch, I will have to make a copy with gouache on watercolour paper instead of just a sketch marooned inside a book. Also, the florescent yellow halo and heart-beams did not scan through at all. But I think she would find this comforting. The Madonna with Beatles lyrics. I know in this past week, with all its strange ups and downs, thinking of drawing the virgin, contemplating the lyrics to let it be has kept me calm. But that’s the thing about Catholicism. Even if you think you’re too smart to fall for any of that shit, they get you when you’re young. But that’s the thing about mothers, and their Beatles music.

let it be, virgin mary

let it be

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 23, 2009 11:45 pm

    Indeed, I was asleep during this. That sketch turned out awesome though! I glad you put it up here.

    Also, that was pretty much the best day ever. I would like every day to consist only of shopping, eating, and napping. Preferably heavy on the napping at this point, for some reason I have not been able to catch up on my sleep for like months. And dreams are the bestest! As are moms…

Leave a Reply

