Skip to content

“those suckers. we’re leaving oshawa and going to toronto”

January 12, 2010

The cat is in heat and I am listening to Tom Waits for the very first time.

I spent my first full weekend in a long-time in Oshawa visiting David. There was a lot of time spent in subway train cars, buses, and automobiles. It was a delicious, quiet weekend away from the city, and although usually I only like to ever stay in one place long enough to make an appearance, today I had a hard time leaving. I put it off all day long.

But finally I did have t0 leave, so David dropped me off at the GO transit station. I settled into the upstairs cabin, which was empty except for a few occupants. As the train pulled out of the station headed for Toronto, a train was rolling in, and to his friend one guy remarked “those suckers are going to Oshawa! We’re leaving Oshawa and going to Toronto!”

Leading up to my trip to Oshawa, I’d told Dave I wanted to hear some of the music that he’s been working on lately. We went for a drive last night, to the lake so we could be alone, and he showed me some of the lyrics he’s been working on. He told me how all his life he’s been going on trips, across the country with Katimavik, to Bear River, tree-planting out west, and the whole time he was to trying find out who he was. The thing was, he told me, that it wasn’t til he would come back home that he would realize that those places didn’t hold any answers for him. The person that he is always waits for him, in Oshawa. He is beginning to accept that the city is a part of him.

I live in Toronto because it’s the biggest city in Canada. It’s the opposite of the tiny speck of a Hamlet that I grew up in, further north than God’s country. But it’s when I leave and go back, or somewhere smaller that I realize I can’t escape my roots. And to my surprise, there’s value to them.

The perspective on this train interior is a little surrealistic, but I think I’m okay with that.

T.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Dave permalink
    January 12, 2010 8:50 am

    Tom Waits is fucking sexual.

    PS, the album Alice is pretty tremendously magnificient

  2. January 13, 2010 10:25 pm

    Tom Waits is pretty cool, I’m actually kind of surprised you hadn’t heard his music before. Since I listen pretty exclusively to daddy music, 80’s power ballads and Top 40 I’m always shocked when I’ve heard something other people haven’t before, I assume the songs and artists I know must be essentially ubiquitous or I wouldn’t know them at all.

    I’d like to believe I have roots in Toronto, since I grew up with the idea firmly ingrained that “it is the best place ever. There are sidewalks and streetlights and public transit and people are friendly and it contains everything you will ever need”. I do think that Toronto has been a big part of my life and is still where I dream of living. However, and the value of these roots are highly debatable, I do think I am a part of the Bloomfield Bubble. A bubble I hope to one day escape, but I would be somehow unsurprised if I ended up in a similar location. Growing up here pretty much established part of my identity as your typical American suburban bitch, and I don’t know if I’ll ever grow beyond that. One can only hope.

Leave a Reply

