Skip to content

The 12’s after 12 Mod Club Performance

May 6, 2010

Maybe it’s a little late in the game to be ranting about The Twelves show last Friday night at the Mod Club, but I have to admit that I was really disappointed with one element of the performance by Rio’s formidable DJ duo.

I understand the rarity of shows starting on time, which is why I arrived at the Mod Club at 11:30 instead of the door opening at 10. When I got there at 11:30, I was actually thinking I would be arriving late for the performance, or that maybe if I was lucky the techies would be setting up. But midnight rolled around, and the same shitty dj was spinning his stale brand of house music. Around 12:45 we went outside for a smoke break and when we came in they were playing, so essentially The Twelves came on at 1 AM.

We stayed for another 40 minutes. The set was going great and I was really getting into it in spite of the fact that I was dead tired from my usual regimen of staying up much past my bedtime. But the band showing up so late was a big buzz kill. We were too tired to stay and watch the end of the set, which is too bad because I was really enjoying it and would have given it a good review. Instead all I can offer is the fact that I would’ve like to review the set- if I had only got to see all of it.

the twelves

credit to the twelves myspace page

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

