Skip to content

hire a writer

January 31, 2011

Hello there,

My name is Natascha Malta and I am writing you because I would like to be a contributor for the I love Toronto website. I got your email through a friend Caroline Aksich, who is doing some writing for your site right now.

Currently I do Toronto based writing for 3 different places- musicvice.com, thestrand.ca, and my own Toronto themed site greetingsfromtoronto.wordpress.com . I often write about the local Toronto music scene, but I’ve also written on different topics pertaining to the vast Toronto culture- including articles on the AGO and ROM as well as smaller gallery showings, local parks and restaurants, etc.

As far as things I think I can contribute to your site- you’ve gotten a nice start documenting many of the wonderful places to eat in Toronto. However, information on other cultural institutions in the city is rather scant (but it is a new site). I would like to do a series of articles for the site on the great parks in Toronto and the different services and programs that are run out of the parks. Parks are an important part of any community, and a large draw for people looking to start a family. I would likely start with the Dufferin Grove park, focusing on the community that has formed around the great all-year farmer’s market that is held twice weekly there. I could also provide some hand illustrations in markers/watercolours for a small extra price if that’s something that interests you. You can see samples of my illustration online at https://greetingsfromtoronto.wordpress.com/aggo-art-gallery-of-greetingsfromtoronto-ontario/ . I have no streetscapes online, but it gives you an idea of my drawing style.

I also noticed that the site still needs many neighbourhood profiles to be completed yet- and as a Torontophiliac, I relish the idea of pouring over texts at the reference library (a place that deserves a feature itself) digging up facts on the history of neighbourhoods.

Also, many cultural institutions have yet to be written up- such as the Harbourfront Centre, Much Music, the MOCCA museum of  Canadian contemporary art, 411 Richmond, etc- that I certainly don’t mind doing some footwork for. And of course there would be much value to documenting famous Toronto architecture (such as the TD building by Mies van dehr Roe, the renovation of the AGO by Toronto raised Gehry).

I would love to hear some feedback from, and perhaps we can chat about having me join the team.

Thanks,
Natascha Malta

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2011 1:27 am

    in case you were curious, I got the job.

  2. Jordan permalink
    February 28, 2011 9:26 am

    Yay! I’m so happy for/proud of you for getting out there!

Leave a Reply

