Skip to content

greetings from toronto goes to Synthetic Zero in NYC

April 19, 2011

In just a few weeks from now I’m going to make my first trip to New York City where I will have a chance to exhibit some of my art from this blog accompanied by their stories as they appear in this blog.

This is pretty much the most exciting thing that has ever happened to me. I still remember the exact afternoon when this art project was conceived. The scheme was this- Step one, create art. Step two, try and show that art. Step three, repeat. It seemed rather cock-brained at the time and I held out hope of anyone ever liking what I make or ever getting to show it anywhere. As an artist you are told again and again- just give up, you’re never going to make it. Which isn’t to say that I’ve made it, but that it’s exciting just to be making a real try.

The show I’m going to be participating in is called Sonik Fest, and is the 4th installment in a series of shows put on by Synthetic Zero at The Bronx Art Space. It will run from May 4th-21st, with an opening on May4th and another on May 7th which I will be attending and drawing portraiture at.

Greetings From Toronto has been a great excuse to reach out to a lot of interesting Torontonians and artists, and I’m excited to continue with the project in the future. One thing I would like to do more of in the future is sending more letters to interesting characters, and more artist exchanges.

I did one such artist exchange with a friend I met while working at the sandwich shop where I am currently employed at downtown. (Artists and food and beverage industry. It seems to be an inevitable cycle.) Nick and I spent a really nice Friday together a few weeks ago, wandering the torn up Roncesvalle strip- him snapping photos, and then me creating this portrait in my sunny lansdowne apartment. It’s the only portrait that I created specifically for this trip, and Nick seemed to enjoy the idea of his avatar travelling to New York even if he couldn’t himself.

There’s still a lot of work to do before I get to NYC, and the date is rapidly approaching. Business cards need to be created, hotel beds booked, and then there’s artist statements. I decided to go with a hand written postcard format which I think captures the spirit of what I’m doing. This is my first draft, which’ll need an edit before it gets fedexed to NYC sometime later this week.

Nick Warzin

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

