Skip to content

Ballpoint Buddha

November 17, 2011

I’ve been making an effort to draw more often in an effort to hone my skillz. This image is drawn directly from a book of Nepalese art called “Celestial Gallery”. It was at the centre of a complex mandala. Mandalas were a recurring project theme for me in highschool- but I haven’t given eastern thought a passing thought since then. Until last week when I picked up a copy of “Franny and Zooey” that is- my first copy had been borrowed without return by a fellow parishioner a long time ago (when I used to belong to parish). It’s funny actually, because there’s a book that’s mentioned in “Franny and Zooey” called “The Way of a Pilgrim” which someone loaned to me- and which I incidentally lost. I mean it completely disappeared- I never even found it when I was moving out of the Lansdowne place. I’ve been fetishizing Catholicism a lot more these days, but the Salinger novel made me remember my old love.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

