Skip to content

bride of peyote

September 11, 2013

New Work!

featuring one of my favourite models, Paula Ryszanek. gosh, that day of the dead girl costume is the artistic gift that keeps on giving.

I actually began work on this piece over a year ago, when I went through a bit of a day of the dead phase. (I say phase, but I haven’t really gotten over it). I got stuck in the drawing stages because it was a blurry photo that made it hard to make out details like hands. Rather than extrapolating, I decided to give the bride claw hands- but wasn’t sure I liked it. So the canvas sat on the shelf gathering dust until about a month ago when I had a surge of creativity and finished it off.

today i put the finishing touches on the piece, as I will be sending it off to Glencoe soon- to be part of my first solo show.

this piece has no official soundtrack attached, but if it helps- listen to “Hotel California” while you look at it.

bride of peyote

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

